Fish Tofu Hotpot

Sometimes, you just run out of dinner ideas. That’s when I turn to the people I cook for — my family. However, one of my brothers is less than cooperative. Whenever I ask him what he wants to eat, most of the time he just shrugs and says it’s up to me, which is a bit perplexing as you can imagine. Yesterday though, I decided to give it another try.

Me: I’m going grocery shopping. (Hesitates.) Is there something you’d like for dinner?

Brother 1: …FISH TOFU!

Rejoice! Brother 1 has spoken. Tonight, we eat fish tofu hotpot. (Although serving hotpot in the summer is a bit… *mops sweat*)

A disclaimer, though, before anything else. I call this a hotpot, but I cook it like a soup. Traditionally, a hotpot involves a broth simmered on a portable burner and several raw ingredients you cook in the broth as you eat. But we don’t have a portable burner, so we just cook it on the stove. Not much of a difference, really. And you don’t have to wait for your food to cook.

IMG_1363

Ingredients:

  • 1kg fish tofu
  • 100g scallion, sliced
  • 200g chinese cabbage, chopped
  • 1 packet hotpot soup base
  • 200g vermicelli
  • 2.5L water

Cooking directions:

  1. In a soup pot, boil water over medium high heat.
  2. Add soup base to boiling water and stir until dissolved.
  3. Add scallion, fish tofu, and vermicelli**. Bring to a boil and cook for 4-5 minutes.
  4. Add chinese cabbage and cook for another minute or two.
  5. Taste broth. Add salt and pepper to taste. (The soup base I used called for 1 packet for every 1.5L of water so I was expecting it to be a bit bland. Surprisingly, I didn’t need to add salt and pepper after tasting the broth.)
  6. Serve immediately.

**Vermicelli absorbs water as it cooks. To prevent losing too much broth, move cooked vermicelli to a serving bowl if you intend to it eat at a later time.

Have a hot, hot, hot hotpot day!

Leave a Reply

